Richard J. Schmeelk

Préoccupé par le débat national sur l’éventuelle scission du Québec de la fédération canadienne et des conséquences qui en découleraient, il a créé la prestigieuse Bourse Richard J. Schmeelk en 1985 pour favoriser une meilleure compréhension entre les Canadiens anglophones et francophones et pour créer une meilleure relation entre le gouvernement et les entreprises. 

La bourse Richard J. Schmeelk Canada 

Préoccupé par le débat national sur l’éventuelle scission du Québec de la fédération canadienne et des conséquences qui en découleraient, il a créé la prestigieuse Bourse Richard J. Schmeelk en 1985 pour favoriser une meilleure compréhension entre les Canadiens anglophones et francophones et pour créer une meilleure relation entre le gouvernement et les entreprises. Au départ, la bourse était destinée à des étudiants canadiens de troisième cycle, inscrits d’abord à l’Université Laval (Québec) et à l’Université Western (Ontario). Par la suite, l’Université de Calgary et l’Université de Montréal se sont ajoutés commepartenaires. L’importance et l’opportunité de l’initiative de Dick sont confirmées par les éminents Canadiens qui ont siégé dès le départ à la Fondation, y compris un ancien premier ministre du Canada, un ancien premier ministre de l’Ontario et trois anciens ministres des gouvernements du Québec et de l’Ontario (voir Annexe A). La bourse est maintenant administrée par la Fondation Richard J. Schmeelk du Canada. Depuis sa création, la bourse Schmeelk a été attribuée à plus de 130 étudiants canadiens et le montant total décerné dépasse 3,0 millions de dollars canadiens. Le fonds de dotation de la Fondation Schmeelk Canada perpétuera la vision de Dick pour de nombreuses années à venir.  

Musée des Beaux-Arts de Montréal 

Dick Schmeelk était un mécène dévoué du Musée des Beaux-Arts de Montréal. Il a été derrière plusieurs campagnes de collecte de fonds à New York et à West Palm Beach. Il a créé The International Friends of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts à New York pour encourager les arts, diffuser la connaissance des arts, et acquérir, préserver et améliorer l’organisation facilite les dons au Musée par des citoyens et des organisations basées aux États-Unis. M. Schmeelk a également présidé l’organisation pendant de nombreuses années.  

Reconnaissance  

Richard J. Schmeelk s’est mérité le surnom affectueux de ” Monsieur Canada ” pour ses importantes contributions au Canada. Sa contribution exceptionnelle a été reconnue officiellement à de nombreuses reprises. Il a notamment reçu les plus hautes distinctions décernées par les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec. Ces distinctions comprennent :

  • Doctorat Honoris Causa Université Laval (Québec) juin 1991 Western University (Ontario) juin 1990
  • Doctorat Honoris Causa Université Laval (Québec) juin 1991 Université Laval (Québec) juin 1991
  • Doctorat Honoris Causa Université Bishop’s (Québec) 1991 Université Bishop’s (Québec) 1991
  • Chevalier Ordre national du Québec 2005
  • Membre honoraire Ordre du Canada 2018

La gouvernance de la Bourse Richard J. Schmeelk  

Les distingués membres des comités consultatifs, on peut citer :

  • Le très honorable John Turner, PC CC QC, ancien premier ministre du Canada
  • L’honorable. William G. Davis, PC, CC, Ont, QC, ancien premier ministre de l’Ontario
  • Raymond Garneau, OC, ancien ministre des Finances, ancien ministre de l’Éducation et président du Conseil du trésor du Québec, ancien président du Conseil et président-directeur général de la Banque d’Épargne de la Cité et du District de Montréal et ancien président-directeur général de l’Industrielle Alliance, compagnie d’assurance
  • W. Darcy McKeough OC, ancien trésorier de la province de l’Ontario
  • Guy Saint-Pierre, CC, GOQ, ancien ministre de l’Éducation du Québec, ancien président et chef de la direction de SNC-Lavalin, ancien président du Conseil de la Banque Royale du Canada
  • L’honorable Michael Meighen, QC, ancien sénateur du Canada
  • A. Jean de Grandpré, CC, ancien chef de la direction de Bell Canada Entreprises Inc.
  • Thomas E. Kierans, OC, vice-président et président du Conseil, CRSHC, ancien président-directeur général de l’Institut C.D. Howe
  • Guy Savard, CM, ancien président et chef des opérations de la Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec et ancien président du Conseil de Merrill Lynch Canada
  • Robert J. Foster, président et directeur général de Capital Canada Limited
  • Paul Davenport, OC, ancien président et vice-chancelier de l’Université Western
fr_CAFrench

Richard J. Schmeelk

Richard J. Schmeelk contribution to Canada’s economic and social prosperity spanned several decades, first as one of Canada’s leading investment bankers and then as a most thoughtful philanthropist for education and the arts. A trusted and ethical investment banker, he was for more than three decades a sought-after financial advisor to governments and major Canadian corporations seeking to raise capital in global markets. 

The Richard J. Schmeelk Canada Fellowship 

Concerned about the national debate over the potential scission of Québec from the Canadian federation and its dire consequences, he established the prestigious Richard J. Schmeelk Canada Fellowship in 1985 to foster better understanding between English-and-French- speaking Canadians and to create a better understanding between government and business. The Fellowship is a post-graduate award for selected Canadian students enrolled at the Laval (Québec) and Western (Ontario) universities. The Fellowship was later extended to include the University of Calgary and the Université de Montréal as partner universities. The importance and timeliness of Dick’s initiative is confirmed by the prominent Canadians who served as advisors to the Fellowship, including a former Prime Minister of Canada, a former Premier of Ontario, and three former ministers in the Quebec and Ontario governments (see Appendix A). The Fellowship is now administered by the Richard J. Schmeelk Canada Foundation. Since its inception, the Schmeelk Fellowship has been awarded to over 130 Canadian students and the total amount of the Fellowship has exceeded CAN $3.0 million. The Fellowship is now administered by the Richard J. Schmeelk Canada Foundation. Since its inception, the Schmeelk Fellowship has been awarded to over 130 Canadian students and the total amount of the Fellowship has exceeded CAN $3.0 million. The Schmeelk Canada Foundation’s endowment fund will continue Dick’s vision for many years to come. 

The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts 

Dick Schmeelk was a big fan of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. He spearheaded several fundraising campaigns in New York and West Palm Beach. He established The International Friends of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts in New York to encourage the arts, disseminate knowledge of the arts, and acquire, preserve and improve the condition of works of art exhibits at the Museum. The organization’s tax status facilitates donations to the Museum by U.S. citizens and organizations. Dick chaired the organization for many years. 

Recognition 

Richard J. Schmeelk has earned the affectionate nickname “Mr. Canada” for his significant contributions to Canada. His outstanding contribution has been recognized in many official ways, including the highest honours awarded by the governments of Canada and Quebec. These honours include:

  • Doctorate Honoris Causa Western University (Ontario) June 1990
  • Doctorate Honoris Causa Université Laval (Québec) June 1991
  • Doctorate Honoris Causa Bishop’s University (Québec) 1991
  • Knight National Order of Québec 2005
  • Honorably Member Order of Canada 2018

Governance of the Richard J. Schmeelk Fellowship 

Notable advisory members at its inception include:

  • Rt. Hon. John Turner, PC CC QC, Former Prime Minister of Canada
  • Hon. William G. Davis, PCCCOOnt QC, Former Premier, Province of Ontario
  • Raymond Garneau, OC, Former Minister of Finance, former Minister Education and President of the Treasury Board, Province of Quebec, former Chairman, President and CEO of the Montreal City and District Savings Bank and former President and CEO of Industrial Alliance Insurance Company
  • W. Darcy McKeough OC, Former Treasurer, Province of Ontario
  • Guy Saint-Pierre, CC, GOQ, Former Minister of Education, Province of Quebec, Former Chairman Royal Bank of Canada
  • The Hon.. Michael Meighen, QC, Former Senator of Canada
  • A. Jean de Grandpré, CC, Former President and CEO Bell Canada Enterprises Inc.
  • Thomas E. Kierans, OC, Vice President and Chair, SSHRC, Former CEO C.D. Howe Institute
  • Guy Savard, CM, Former President and Chief Operating Officer of Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec and Former Chairman, Merrill Lynch Canada
  • Robert J. Foster, Chief Executive Officer, Capital Canada Limited
  • Paul Davenport, OC, Former President and Vice-Chancellor, Western University
en_CAEnglish